Book Reviews

Wanderlust and Lipstick Books: Online Reviews

Perceptive Travel, Oct 2009Perceptive Travel
Perceptive Travel Book Reviews by Tim Leffel – Wanderlust and Lipstick: Traveling with Kids
“There are sections on dining, packing, cultural differences, and the seldom-pleasant experience of flying in the USA with a baby or toddler. Lessons learned and bites of advice are scattered throughout the book, adding to the experiences of the two authors… The authors obviously asked a lot of questions of other mothers also to make sure they weren’t overlooking anything.”

Divine Caroline, May 2009divinecarolinelogo
Want to Travel Solo? Wanderlust and Lipstick Tells You How
“Beth Whitman will give you the whats and where-to-gos so you can find what you need to create a truly unique journey for yourself. Half the fun is in the preparation and anticipation of what will be. Wanderlust and Lipstick makes sure that you’ve got realistic expectations and the resources you need to make it be something truly life-altering.”

seattles-childSeattle’s Child, Jun 1, 2009
Seattle Moms Pen New Guidebook for Traveling with Kids
“The book is full of quick bits of advice – how to rent a car seat, managing layovers, budgeting tips, and some golden rules for traveling with teens. And in addition to the words of wisdom they offer from each of their extensive travel experiences, they share the stories various other parents have told them over the years.”

matadorgoods-miniMatador Goods, Feb 11, 2009
Book Review: Wanderlust and Lipstick for Women Traveling to India
“I was curious to see whether author Beth Whitman would offer the sort of advice I wished I’d had! I was immediately impressed by “Follow Your Passions,”� a chapter surveying the range of activities available to visitors. It went well beyond the usual lists of yoga studios, trekking companies and shopping bazaars.”

bigblendlogoThe Big Blend,
Wanderlust and Lipstick: For Women Traveling to India
“India promises great rewards and challenges for visitors, whether traveling solo, as a group, as a student or for business. Wanderlust and Lipstick: For Women Traveling to India is the definitive guide to help any WanderGal embrace this captivating country and make the most of her journey to the subcontinent.”

Brave New Traveler, Jul 11, 2007bravenewtraveler-mini
Book Review: Wanderlust and Lipstick
“Written with a good combination of sound advice, tips from someone who’s been there herself and the strong sense that she believes you can take care of yourself, “Wanderlust and Lipstick”� casts Whitman as the quintessential older sister, someone eager to share what she’s learned in her experiences to help your own.”

Boston.com: Globe-trotting, Oct 6, 2008
Calling all India-bound women
“Last year I wrote a Boston Globe piece about Beth Whitman’s book “Wanderlust and Lipstick,” a guide to women traveling solo. Whitman, who lives in Seattle, is well qualified to coach women on their journeys. For 15 years she has offered workshops, leads tours, and runs the website www.forwomentravelingsolo.com.”

usa-today-logoUSA Today, Mar 25, 2007
Guides steer women onto the solo road
“Wanderlust and Lipstick: The Essential Guide for Women Traveling Solo In a nutshell: A pep talk for the timid and the indecisive – a sort of you-can-do-it! primer for the gal who hasn’t been out much – with or without companions. Advice ranges from basic booking strategies to health considerations.”

boston-globe-logoThe Boston Globe, Apr 15, 2007
Women solo need not be solitary
“Whitman, who lives in Seattle, is well qualified to coach women on their journeys. For 15 years she has offered workshops and runs the website forwomentravelingsolo.com. She also leads tours and blogs about travel for the Seattle Post-Intelligencer newspaper.”

SFGate, May 31, 2007sf-logo
Words of wisdom for worldly women and lovers of literature
” “Wanderlust and Lipstick” is a pep talk for first-timers, with advice on overcoming obstacles and reliance on group tours, and it devotes a lot of space to basic trip planning. There are good tips, though, on such issues as avoiding or minimizing the single supplement, creating your own spa getaway instead of buying an expensive package and taking practice solo trips within your safe zone.”

Wanderlust and Lipstick Books: Blog Reviews

Breathe Dream Go, Dec 14, 2009BreatheDreamGo
Advice for first time visitors and women traveling to India
“Also check out SoloTravelerBlog, a great site with lots of inspiring articles about the joys and benefits of traveling solo (personally, I think it’s the only way to go!) and Wanderlust and Lipstick for more India travel advice – even a guide book for Women Traveling to India.”

Backpack to Buggy, Dec 1, 2009
Making Travel Easier: Traveling with Kids Book Review
“One of the reasons this books stands above others is the great balance between detailed suggestions, like packing tricks or special documentation, and broad topics like picking a destination or what to see when you are there.� The secret may be that ideas are presented only as suggestions and web addresses are provided throughout the book if the reader wants additional details.”

Dave Fox’s Outbursts, Nov 21, 2009
Wanderlust and Lipstick: My Manly Perspective on the Female Travelers’ Guidebook Series
“Because of the title, most men will not feel inclined to read Wanderlust and Lipstick for Women Traveling to India. But I quickly found myself immersed, and wanting to go visit a country that has always intimidated me. Men will learn a lot from Beth’s female-centric book.”

Almost Fearless, Nov 20, 2009AlmostFearless
Free Book Friday: The Essential Guide for Women Traveling Solo
“Wanderlust and Lipstick’s Beth Whitman wants you to travel. In this second edition of the aptly named, The Essential Guide for Women Traveling Solo, she takes the reader through the basics like: Why Travel Solo, Getting Beyond the Excuse, Let’s Get Booking, Pack it Up, and Responsible Travel.� The advice is solid, the writing is clear and pleasant to read.”

Ever the Nomad, Oct 20, 2009
The joys of solo travel
“It helped me get out of my travel writer skin and realize there are people out there who need encouragement to travel solo. Myself, I can’t even count the number of times I ate alone in restaurants and had late-night solo drinks in bars in the name of research. In her opening chapter, “Why Travel Solo”, Beth gives the right incentive and inspiration for women to just do it.”

My Charmed Life, Sep 23, 2009
Wanderlust and Lipstick: Traveling with Kids (Review)My Charmed Life
“It includes fun personal stories and tips from traveling moms with children of all ages. Having read this book I feel more confident that when our next trip comes along, I’ll be well prepared and ready to enjoy the experience.”

Keeps Me Smiling, Aug 2, 2009
My Plan to Stop Time

“Traveling With Kids (my very favorite subject!) by Leslie Forsberg and Michelle Duffy, hits the mark right here…” “Even if it requires some work to manifest, spending time with our children away from daily routines can be transformative…If we slow down and try to see the world through their eyes, we can find the kid inside ourselves that we’ve forgotten for a long time.”

travelexpertaThe Travel Expert(a), Jun 15, 2009
Wanderlust and Lipstick: The Essential Guide for Women Traveling Solo – Review
“You’ll love this book. Once you take it on the road you’ll be reading and re-reading it constantly for new ideas, answers to your questions and just for inspirational stories by other fellow women travelers.”

Reviews by Minnemom: products for travel and more, May 23, 2009reviewsbyminnemom
Review of Wanderlust and Lipstick: Traveling with Kids by Leslie Forsberg and Michelle Duffy
“As I read the book, I found my self nodding in agreement at times, and saying “why didn’t I think of that” at others. Written traveling moms Leslie Forsberg and Michelle Duffy, Traveling with Kids will be a useful resource for families traveling around the world or within their home state.”

dream-list-media-logoDream List Media, Jun 10, 2009
Traveling with Kids
” I often find hopeless Moms who put off their travel dreams because they have children and families… For all you Moms out there who can relate, read the book, Wanderlust and lipstick: Traveling with Kids by Leslie Forsberg and Michelle Duffy. This practical guide will give you everything you need to set off on your own exciting family journeys.”

Dim Sum, Bagels, and Crawfish, May 22, 2009dim-sum-bagels-and-crawfish
Travel Photo Friday: Family Travel
“I wish I had had this book seven years ago “Wanderlust and Lipstick: Traveling with Kids” celebrates the joys of traveling with kids while also tackling the challenges at all ages/stages. Practical, motivating, and real….highly recommend it for all families.”

indie-travel-podcastIndie Travel Podcast,
Review: Wanderlust and lipstick by Beth Whitman
“I”d recommend this book to anyone, male or female, who wants inspiration and solid information about travel. It’s especially useful for women who want to travel but need some encouragement, or who don’t feel they have the skills they need to travel alone. It’s also a good resource for any new traveller, to dip into before the trip or to use as an on-the-road resource.”

Mom Most Traveled, May 21, 2009mom-most-traveled
Wanderlust and Lipstick: Traveling With Kids
“Wanderlust and Lipstick: Traveling with Kids covers all of the bases with practical advice concerning safety, budget traveling, eco-friendly trips, and how to best utilize technology when you are on the road. Wanderlust and Lipstick: Traveling with Kids also draws from real life “in the trenches”� stories from 50 mothers to inspire you in conquering the sometimes frightening pilgrimage of parenting on the road.”

my-several-worldsMy Several Worlds, May 11, 2009
Book Review: Wanderlust and Lipstick: The Essential Guide for Women Traveling Solo
“In the end, I found Wanderlust and Lipstick to be thoughtful, well-written, comprehensive, and inspiring enough to get even the world’s greatest armchair traveler to get out there and start living life.”

The Mother of All Trips, May 7, 2009mother-of-all-trips
Trip Planning: *Traveling With Kids* Giveaway
“Most of all, I like the tone of the book – understanding, wise, generous, and inspirational. Reading it is like talking to a friend who knows you well, has been everywhere, and has all kinds of practical, realistic, and nonjudgmental advice to offer.”

traveling-mamas-copyTraveling Mamas, May 6, 2009
New Book: Traveling with Kids
“The general guide is geared toward parents who are new to traveling with children. In fact, the book would make a nice baby shower gift for soon-to-be parents who would like to keep up their on-the-road lifestyle but aren’t sure how that’s going to work with a little one in tow.”

The Professional Hobo, Mar 24, 2009pro-hobo
Is India in Your Future? Even if it’s Not…
“I finished the book all the more excited to board a plane to the land of spices and holy cows, and feeling better prepared for what awaits me there. It is a quick and easy read, and full of resources worth going back to. It remains on my shelf as a reference, and will likely accompany me to India”

Diva in a Carry On, Jan 30, 2009diva_in_a_carry_on_2
wanderlust and lipstick book on india travel …
“It offers a perfect guide for women wanting to explore the many mysteries of india. chock full of incredibly good advice, as well as dozens of tips and tricks that can make traveling in general for women much easier, this is one book you’ll want to have in your library if you’re considering traveling globally solo.”

What a Trip, Jan 25, 2009what-a-trip
Exploring India, Napa Valley and Monterey Bay
“Fellow travel writer Beth Whitman has been captivated by India and its culture. She has authored a Wanderlust and Lipstick book specifically for Women Traveling to India. While I have not yet journeyed to India…”

Glam Jaunt, Aug 29, 2008glamjaunt_header
Tips from Travel Expert Beth Whitman of Wanderlust and Lipstick
“Beth Whitman’s Wanderlust and Lipstick website and guidebooks are indispensable resources for any woman (or group of women) planning a trip, offering everything from travel tips to gear reviews to tales from female travelers who’ve traipsed around the globe. For anyone with the urge to wander, this is the site for you.”

travel-bettyTravel Betty, Mar 8, 2008
Review Of Beth Whitman’s Wanderlust And Lipstick
“What woman hasn’t dreamed of scrapping it all and hitting the open road? … Wanderlust and Lipstick: The Essential Guide for Women Traveling Solo is the book you should read when you’re ready to give that dream a swift kick into the planning stage.”

gallaghers-travelsGallagher’s Travels,
Wanderlust and Lipstick: The Essential Guide for Women Traveling Solo
“If you’re a frequent or longtime traveler this book will still be a valuable aid with its resources and organization. I like a reminder or brush-up if I haven’t been to a particular climate for a while or perhaps will be using a ferry or other transportation not in my everyday routine.”

Vagabondish, vagabondish_logo
Travel Book Review: Wanderlust and Lipstick: The Essential Guide for Women Traveling Solo
“The title belies an otherwise excellent resource that will appeal to both seasoned and novice travelers of all genders – female, male, and [ahem] otherwise. It’s absolutely brimming with great advice, web links, offline resources, etc. that any traveler will appreciate. As a travel-obsessed web geek, I spend countless hours reading travel industry news, tips, and advice and still found a number of new and interesting gems.”

 
Contact Us · About · WanderTales · Advertise · WanderBlogs· WanderTips · WanderGear · Newsletter · Book Reviews · Calendar · Media · News · Copyright & Privacy · Site Map